Saturday, 15 June 2013

New historical fiction: The Hawker Chronicles

An introduction to the Hawker Chronicles Series

As a reader and writer I have a preference for Science Fiction, so Historical Fiction is not my first choice. However, when I discovered that my cousin's husband, Hugh W. Clifton, a retired schoolmaster, had embarked upon an extensive series of historical novels, I was intrigued to say the least.

Knowing Hugh to be a classically educated gentleman, I set about reading the first book with great anticipation. I was not in the least disappointed. In fact I find that the books in this series are impossible to put down. They are so well-researched that each is steeped in the very tastes, smells and textures of the times in which it is set. The reader feels as though he or she is locked in the deepest dungeon of the Tower of London, or riding in the saddle of a horse galloping triumphantly to the gates of a royal residence. Swords clash and musket balls buzz past, wreaking death on all around except he who, through daring deeds and native cunning, lives to tell the tale.

The line of Hawkers is a family of landed gentry upon which falls a rich variety of fortunes reflecting its historical context. Some Hawkers seek fortune and glory, others strive to remain genteelly inconspicuous. Falling in or out of favour, being conspired against and winning back one's heritage are all features of the Hawker history. A striking variety of engaging secondary characters is also provided, weaving their way amongst those well-known to us all from history.

Lineal descent of Hawker of Haplow
The Family of Hawker of Haplow traces its descent from Tancred d’Haucourt, recorded in the Domesday Book as holding land at Haplow, Huntingdonshire.

Sir Gervase Hawker (1550-1603)
Vaughan Hawker (1577-1654)
Inigo Hawker (1620-1715)
Titus Hawker (1681-1744)
Sir Andrew Hawker (1724–1777)
Sir Rupert Hawker (1755-1814)
Sir Richard Hawker (1793-1857)
James Noah Hawker V.C. (1834-1914)
Lionel Trafford Hawker (1857–1941)
John Noah Hawker (1897-1918)
Laurence Dumoulin-Hawker (1918-1969)
Daniel Trafford Hawker (1954-   )
Lovell Hawker (1981-   )

The series of novels to be published by Hugh W. Clifton are The Hawker Chronicles:

Hawker's Queens (1590-1603)
Hawker's Plot (1603-1625)
Hawker Cavalier (1642-1707)
Hawker’s Island (1700-1717)
Hawker’s Rebellion (1743-1746)
Hawker’s Revolution (1790-94)
Hawker Tobyman (1814-1831)
Hawker’s Mutiny (1856-1857)
Hawker’s Century (1875-1881)
Hawker’s Return (1913-1918)
Hawker’s Secret (1930-1945)
Hawker’s Deal (1969-1975)

Hugh W. Clifton's Amazon author page

I shall be reviewing the books at intervals in this blog.

No comments: